Can I assign ID column to an existing deck?

Can I assign ID column to an existing deck?

Postby noof11 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:25 pm

I had one more question. I'm starting to frequently modify both sides of a single card in a single edit in excel which can cause issues when updating the deck. Can I add an "ID" column to an existing deck and update without any issues? Also is the ID column name ID all-caps or Id?

Thanks!
noof11
 

Re: Can I assign ID column to an existing deck?

Postby Ernie » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:54 pm

Use all caps "ID"

Yes, you can add to existing deck. Make sure values are positive integers. The first sync will behave as usually, but after that (the app will now have your IDs), it should match existing cards by ID. Give it a test.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: Can I assign ID column to an existing deck?

Postby jensh » Sun Dec 06, 2020 8:25 am

Hi,

I'd also like to give the ID-Column a try.
At this time my Excel-file has no column headers at all. The first 20 rows contain deck-information (with asterisks in first column) and the vocabulary starts in row 21.
Column A: Latin Word
Column B: German word
Column C: Some hints (side 3)
Columns D and E: empty (don't remember why)
Column F: card-statistics

Now I'd like to have an "ID" plus a "Category 1" column.
So after inserting to new columns before old column A I tried to add column headers "ID", "Category 1" "Text 1", "Text 2", "Text 3"

Tried this both at the very top of the file (i. e. before the deck-information) and before the actual vocabulary section (i. e. between deck-info and vocabulary).
But in both cases, after re-importing (via Dropbox) there were no card-statistics any more.
(Of course I worked with copy-data, so no loss, no problem).

How can I get this to work? What am I doing wrong?

Thank you very much.

Jens
jensh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:58 am

Re: Can I assign ID column to an existing deck?

Postby Ernie » Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:12 am

Hi Jens,

The "Text 1" row goes after the "*" rows, and before the first actual card.

I'm not sure about updating an existing deck with IDs. Since you have statistics, can you import back as a new deck?

Your header could be
ID | Text 1 | Text 2 | Text 3 | Category 1 | Statistics 1

Line up your data appropriately for this.
You can try updating existing deck, but if that doesn't work, try adding as a new deck.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Return to Comments, Questions and Feedback