app server sync question

app server sync question

Postby rlpfromak » Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:45 pm

I just saw your YouTube training video on sync and had a couple questions. I’ve been syncing so far with Dropbox without problem, though it does involve me syncing manually. In the video you state that after a sync with app server if you already have a copy of a deck on the second device you will end up with two versions, a synced version and the old existing version which can be deleted. Does this happen with every sync or only after the first sync? (seems like a lot of deleting if the former is true). And if you make separate changes in both decks while off WiFi, does the most recent version have priority?

Thanks again in advance.
rlpfromak
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:17 pm

Re: app server sync question

Postby Ernie » Tue Mar 03, 2020 3:10 am

Hi,

Deleting the duplicate deck is only on the first sync.

If wifi is off, the most recently updated does have priority. One advantage to the new sync is that cards are synced independently from one another, so you can have one card be "new" on one device, and another card be "new" on the other device, and the sync will merge these two. This is unlike the Dropbox sync.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4608
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: app server sync question

Postby rlpfromak » Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:43 pm

Thanks. That new way of syncing (cards) is a big improvement
rlpfromak
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:17 pm

Return to Comments, Questions and Feedback