Working with categories

Working with categories

Postby Dudo01 » Thu Oct 31, 2019 7:50 am

Hello,

I'd like to work with categories.
Is it possible to make the App choose new vocabularies of a new category automatically,
if the vocabularies of the category before are set to active?

Thxs, best,
Roman
Dudo01
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Working with categories

Postby Ernie » Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:31 am

I'm not sure I understand your question.

If you are creating cards directly in the app...
You create categories and then you can assign to cards.
Generally, you will assign categories when you create the card. I don't have a way to auto-assign a category, or a quick way to assign a category from the study screen. Is your question related to this? Being able to more easily assign categories in the the is something on my potential to-do list.

You can assign a category to more than one card at a time by using the Mode button at the bottom of the card listing screen.

The easiest way to assign categories in my opinion is to create your flashcards on your computer.

I'm not sure if this is what you are asking about, so if not, let me know.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: Working with categories

Postby Dudo01 » Fri Nov 01, 2019 6:35 am

Hi Ernie,

hmmmm... I'll try another way to describe what I mean...
Each card has a category, given by the appropriate column "Category 1" in the Excel-Sheet...
What I want is: I want to show only the Cards of Category "Start" at the beginning.
Only if all cards of this category are known exactly by the user and therefore set to active,
the cards of the category "Advanced" should be shown and tested by the App...
And only if every card of both categories "Start" and "Advanced" are known exactly by the user and therefore set to active,
the cards of the category "Expert" should be implemented into the card-deck that is tested by the App.

I hope you know what I mean.

Thxs a lot, best,
Roman
Dudo01
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Working with categories

Postby Ernie » Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:33 pm

No, the app won't do this. But it seems like your example would be easy to do manually. You are doing spaced repetition? If you are studying level 1 and have less then 10 new/pending cards left, then active level 2.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: Working with categories

Postby Dudo01 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:12 am

Yes, that would work fine... Thxs
Dudo01
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:57 pm

Return to Comments, Questions and Feedback



cron