New Sync (beta)

New Sync (beta)

Postby Ernie » Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:50 pm

I'm looking for Android users interested in trying out the new Sync feature in the app.

The purpose of the sync is to keep multiple devices in sync. The new sync is fully automatic and doesn’t require the user to pick which updates to download, like the current Dropbox sync. Flashcards are stored on my own server (Microsoft Azure servers) instead of Dropbox.

This has been available for iOS for a while, and I recently finished the Android coding. The android app will be release over the next few days.

If you are interested in trying out the new sync (you have more than one device), follow the steps below:
Global Options > View > Advanced > Enable Beta Sync. Turn on.
Global Options > Sync. You’ll have the option of using the new “App Server" sync here.

If you try it out, please let me know how it goes. Thanks,
Ernie
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4518
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: New Sync (beta)

Postby sashabe » Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:38 pm

It worked almost fine for me. I synched first from an Android device to cloud, then from cloud to an iOS device. Both devices were synched previously via Dropbox. On the sync down to the iOS device, it created 2x more decks than what I had. The sync log said that it toggled off some of the decks due to a naming conflict. However I deleted all the decks from the iOS device and repeated the sync and then it went fine. Will report if I see some irregularities.
sashabe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:13 pm

Re: New Sync (beta)

Postby Ernie » Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:48 pm

Thanks for trying out the sync and thanks for the feedback. The sync isn't smart about merging existing decks on both devices. I'll need to make it clear to user that they'll need to delete the old duplicate decks and not try to sync both versions.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4518
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: New Sync (beta)

Postby locke » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:19 am

I've been waiting for this a whole life, but when I tried this Beta sync, it just didn't work. Here's the screenshot of what was wrong. Hope it would be of some help.

Can't find where to upload the screenshot. Sent to your e-mail.
locke
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:24 am

Return to Comments, Questions and Feedback



cron