Crashing a lot

Crashing a lot

Postby Ken » Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:17 am

I've been using FCD for a couple months with a 2000-card text-only deck (and a couple smaller text-only decks, but that was the one I spent 99% of time time in). This week I've been trying out a small deck with images, and a larger deck with sounds.

I ran into a number of issues with just getting the cards imported -- I'll write up a list of the issues I had later, because that might be of interest to you.

But this week I've been running into an awful lot of crashes. (That's what "spontaneously exits and goes to the iOS home screen" is, right?) Crashes at times like:
- when rotating the screen with an image on it
- when switching back to FCD from another app, or leaving FCD to go to another app
- when importing a new deck (especially!)

I'm doing a binary search of imports right now, to see if there's a particular line that it's dying on in my deck. I guess it isn't a terribly useful report, to say that the app tends to crash a lot, but I don't know what else I can give you. :/
Ken

Re: Crashing a lot

Postby Ernie » Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:11 pm

Ken,

Shoot, not what I like to hear. I don't know of any issues with the current version, so its hard to imagine what is going on. A couple options:

1) Delete and reinstall the app. I do know that this will fix issues sometimes (especially dealing with pictures/sounds), though I'm not sure for your case, but I think it's worth a try. Make sure you carefully backup your decks (Export back to my server from within the app) if you deside to do this.

2) Send me crash logs. You might be able to find this on your computer after you sync with iTunes:
Mac OS X : ~/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/MobileDevice/<DEVICE_NAME>
Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<USERNAME>\Application Data\Apple computer\Logs\CrashReporter/<DEVICE_NAME>
Windows Vista: C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\Apple computer\Logs\CrashReporter/MobileDevice/<DEVICE_NAME